Breaking in the KitchenAid Stand Mixer

Last night, I decided that it was finally time to use my KitchenAid Stand Mixer.  Brad and I received the mixer as a wedding gift and for about 2 months now, it has been sitting in the corner of my kitchen counter, quietly collecting dust.  I guess I was a little intimidated by the mixer because I had always done my mixing the old school way with a bowl and a wooden spoon.  The reason that I’ve been hesitant to use this specific kitchen gadget, you ask?  Well, I remember walking into my friend Kristin’s apartment one day while she was in the process of baking cupcakes.  She is an excellent cook, but every time she baked it looked like a flour bomb went off in her apartment.  I’m a total neat freak and I envisioned that the moment I switched my mixer to “on”, I would have a batter disaster.  I was surprised because what I thought would be complicated turned out to be quite easy!

“What should I bake as an excuse to use my Stand Mixer?”, I asked myself.  “I know!  The recipe for Snickerdoodle Bread that I saw on Pinterest!”

I guess what sets me apart from other “pinners” that I know is that I pin recipes and crafts that I actually intend on making.  Maybe everyone else refers to their pins to cook and craft as well, and they just don’t tell me about it?  Who knows.  I realize that Pinterest is a virtual pin board designed for inspiration (I think?), but what’s the point of inspiring yourself if you don’t plan on taking action?  I may not travel to the vacation spots or buy all of the clothes that I pin because I’m far from being a gazillionaire, but the crafting and the cooking ideas definitely inspire me to try new things!

I found this little gem – a recipe for Snickerdoodle Bread – on Lil’ Luna’s Blog.  What a treat!  I immediately knew I wanted to make this bread because Snickerdoodle cookies (specifically Snickerdoodle cookies from Tiff’s Treats ) are TO DIE FOR.  I’m talking, a melt in your mouth, buttery, cinnamony, sugary delight.  For some reason, I feel less guilty eating dessert bread than eating cookies, so that is how I can justify that this Snickerdoodle bread isn’t bad for you (nevermind the 2 sticks of butter that the recipe calls for).

So yeah, the only change I made from the recipe on Lil’ Luna’s blog was that I opted not to include cinnamon chips.  I couldn’t find cinnamon chips at the grocery store because apparently they are a seasonal item.  Luna suggested white chocolate chips or toffee chips, so I bought some white chocolate chips but used them as a pre-cooking snack instead of an ingredient.  The end result – the bread tastes just like a Snickerdoodle cookie.  I was in absolute heaven last night when I snuck a taste. :)  I cooked the bread in 2, 9×5 loaf pans because I don’t have mini loaf pans and the recipe suggested cooking for 60-70 minutes.  I cooked the bread right at an hour and the edges were a little crisper than I had hoped, so next time I bake this bread I will try to cook it for maybe 45-50 minutes.  Here is a picture of the deliciousness:

I have a list of craft projects that I am going to get started on next week so stay tuned for a post or two next week – Have a great day! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

