Crock Pot Chicken Fajita Taco Goodness

I LOVE cooking in my crock pot.  Why do I love crock pot cooking so much?  Because it is so E-A-S-Y.  I’ll be honest, crock pot cooking does take a smidgeon of time for preparation and planning, but it is so nice to have food ready and waiting for me at dinner time!  Another reason I’m obsessed with crock pot cooking is because I get home from work about 6:00pm and by that time all I want to do is sit on my fanny, crack open a beer or a bottle of wine and watch The Wheel.  I’m lazy, and standing in my kitchen for 30 minutes to an hour to cook something is the least of my concerns even though by that time I’m so hungry I am about ready to eat my arm.  Moving on.

I had been wanting to try out a recipe for crock pot chicken fajitas that I found on the blog Stacy Makes Cents via Pinterest.  At my bi-monthly grocery shopping trip last weekend, I bought everything I needed for this recipe because I knew I would make it when my craving for chicken fajitas hit, which happened to be last Sunday night.  Side note: Whenever I make a crock pot meal for the first time, I like to make it on a weekend so that I am at home to monitor the time and progress, which actually worked out in my favor yesterday.  I eneded up shortening the cook time by about 45 minutes and the meal was amazing!

I followed the receipe from Stacy’s blog (which you can find here), and here is how it went down:

I used these things –

 

Then I did this:

 And I mixed it all together like this:

Then, I mixed the seasonings together and sprinkled them on top:

And then I set the timer on my crock pot for 8 hours and skipped off to do things around the house:

A few hours later, the house started smelling so good that I was drooling.  I checked the crock pot around the 7 hour mark and decided to shred the chicken and let it soak in the juicy goodness for the last hour.  And when I say shred the chicken, I mean attempt to pick it up with a fork and watch it fall apart all by itself.  My dinner looked like this after 7 hours:

I know, it doesn’t look too appetizing.  But, when you shred it – it looks like this!

Not too long after the chicken shredding and the juice soaking, I came into the kitchen and found my husband eating out of the crockpot with his hands.  So, thanks to Stacy for sharing this delicious and easy meal for lazy people like me!  Brad and I scarfed down our dinner (we each had 3 tacos – oops) and we are having the leftovers tonight as a topping for baked potatoes.  Yum yum!

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Chicken Fajita Taco Goodness

  1. LOL Oh my goodness! Thank you for the laugh! 🙂 I wish you had pictured your husband eating the chicken with his hands. I would have totally added that to the post!
    Thanks for linking. 🙂

  2. Sounds yummy! That is super easy, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

