Another DIY Success from Pinterest

Darn you Pinterest for making me want to try every single DIY craft I come across on your website.  Seriously.  Now that I can finally access (and use) my craft table in the “croftice” (croftice = the word I made up for my craft room/office) I want to try making everything I see on Pinterest.  Saturday morning, I woke up about 8:30, had some coffee, picked up paint samples from Home Depot, then spent about 2 hours browsing the aisles of my local Hobby Lobby.  And by the way, Hobby Lobby is the place to be on Saturday mornings.  Anyway, I bought enough stuff to crank out several different projects including bracelets, necklaces, a swimsuit cover up, a roman shade, mending one of my broken cross-body purses, and last but certainly not least, learning how to use my sewing machine.

The first project that I tackled was a DIY braided bead necklace, inspired by a post on the ECAB blog, which I stumbled upon while “pinning” one day.  The tutorial can be found here, along with a ton of other nifty ideas!  When I first saw this necklace, I thought to myself “I can totally make that”.  What I didn’t know was that this necklace would frustrate me to the point of finishing a bottle of wine before I finished the necklace.  Okay, not the whole bottle, but I did take a wine break in the middle of thie project.  Here’s the scoop:

My Hobby Lobby store was a little picked over on Saturday morning in the jewelry/bead section.  Perhaps it was due to the 50% sale on beads?  Whatever the reason, I was able to find what I needed to make the braided bead necklace, but I had to be slightly creative.  I could only find packs of solid colored beads in gold, silver, and white, so I bought 4 packs of multi-colored beads and picked out the turquoise ones that I wanted to use.  I don’t know what upholstery thread looks like, so I just found some gray nylon thread because nylon is supposed to be good thread (I think?).  I also couldn’t find a 22″ chain, so I bought two smaller chains, which were on clearance, and joined them together make a longer chain.  The necklace hardware (jump rings, bead tips, and clasps) all came in packs of like 10+ but didn’t cost more than $2.99/pack.

I followed the tutorial on ECAB step by step (minus the accidental bead spill that happened as I was threading my last strand of beads – hence the wine break) and my finished product looks like this:

Boom!  Braided Bead Necklace!  And a doggy in the background.  I think Slyder channels his inner Waldo when I start snapping pictures, because he is always in my pictures but manages to be slightly incognito.  Silly dog.

One thought on “Another DIY Success from Pinterest

  1. Kristin says:

    Waiting on mine to arrive in the mail!

Leave a Reply

