Baked Oatmeal Cups – Perfect for Breakfast on the Go!

During the week, Brad and I never have time to eat a good breakfast.  On the weekends, we take advantage of having time to make breakfast tacos or omlets but weekday mornings are a different story.  We are both in a horrible habit of repeatedly pressing the snooze button until we absolutely have to get out of bed to get ready for work, which usually leaves us fighting over who gets to shower first, who is going to make coffee and let the dog out, etc.  Making breakfast never crosses our weekday-morning minds.  On occasion, we will make what we call a “scromlet” which is our name for an omlet on a toasted English muffin or a biscuit (it puts McDonald’s Egg McMuffin to shame), but even those breakfast treats take too much time to make and when I do make one, I have to sacrifice blow drying my hair.  Lately, breakfast to-go options in our home have been nothing but granola bars and/or yogurt.  Brad has a weird obsession with granola bars and usually eats 2 each morning, which is totally fine because I’d rather him eat a box of granola bars than no breakfast at all.  I racked my brain (and consulted Pinterest) to try and find something that I can make in bulk to satisfy a hurried breakfast on our busy weekday mornings, and also save us a little money because those boxes of Nature Valley Sweet & Salty nut bars are like $4 for 6 granola bars.  A little pricey for 6 stupid granola bars.

Alas – I found a recipe for baked oatmeal.  But not just any baked oatmeal, baked oatmeal cups!  A perfect alternative to pre-packaged granola bars and much, much better for you!  The recipe is courtesy of Sugar-Free Mom and can be found HERE.  Be sure to click around her site for other delicious recipes!

One of my favorite things about this recipe is the option to get creative with the toppings.  My least favorite thing was wandering around Kroger for 30 minutes looking for flaxseed meal.  Moving on.  The recipe yields 18 oatmeal cups, but I actually got 23 cups out of my mix.  I probably could have gotten to 24 if I hadn’t over-filled a few cups, but oh well.  I topped the first batch of oatmeal cups with white chocolate chips and sliced almonds and left the second batch plain – they turned out great!  I popped these suckers out and let them cool, left a couple in the fridge to be re-heated this week and put the rest in the freezer.  I stuck one in the microwave this morning for about 30 seconds and it was delish.  Hopefully these will last me a little longer than 2 boxes of store-bought granola bars!

 

2 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal Cups – Perfect for Breakfast on the Go!

  1. Kristin says:

    That looks way too healthy!

  2. I’m definitely trying this. Cheaper and healthier than the instant oatmeal I usually eat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

