Laundry Room Makeover

Our laundry room needed some serious TLC.  Actually, every room in our house needs some help.  But our tiny little 7’x6′ laundry room seemed like a great place to start.  I knew we wouldn’t have to do too much to spruce it up – just a fresh coat of paint and a few splashes of color.  All in all, we spent about $75 on the makeover.

Here are the before pics:

Image

Image

Disgusting, right?  I mean, I know laundry rooms don’t have to be beautiful – but I think you’ll agree that this room needed a little help.  The first thing that we needed in the laundry room was storage, so Brad installed a second shelf using some leftover wood from work.  I’m a huge fan of hidden storage and knew we didn’t want to spend the money on cabinets for the laundry room.  Instead, I hung a valance on the existing rod to cover up the space between the two shelves.  Hidden storage, check!  I also have a slight obsession with baskets because they are a perfect way to camouflage miscellaneous junk.  I bought a few laundry baskets to display on the top shelf and the cute “laundry” sign from my local Garden Ridge.  I already had the rug, we bought a gallon of a taupe-colored paint to match, and Brad was able salvage a few pallets from work which he used to build a stand for the washer & dryer.

The end result:

Image

Image

Image

Quite an improvement, if I do say so myself!

One thought on “Laundry Room Makeover

  1. […] possible to do things on our own before we ask for help.  You may remember reading about our Laundry Room Makeover, which was the first room transformation we did in our house.  We started with the laundry room […]

Leave a Reply

